Lance Armstrong: The Epic Collapse of a Hero

October 19, 2012

Features

We have seen the fall of an American hero this week. Former cyclist Lance Armstrong just lost pretty much everything he had. I still do not want to believe that he did cheat so I am not even going to bother getting into that aspect. However, as if Armstrong was not already having a bad week. Nike along with many other sponsors dropped Armstrong after the allegations emerged. This is the same company that took back Michael Vick after he served time for torturing animals.

However, the saddest announcement came when Armstrong stepped down from LiveStrong, his charity. In a press release, Armstrong had this to say as the reason, ““to spare the foundation any negative effects as a result of controversy surrounding my cycling career, I will conclude my chairmanship.” Armstrong famously battled testicular cancer and was seen as an inspiration to those suffering from all forms of the disease.

It is one thing to say he is a disgraced athlete (allegedly), but no one can take away what that man has done for cancer research. Honestly, everyone owns one of those yellow bracelets. He used his stardom for such a great cause. How can we just let him fall from grace and let this overshadow all the good he has done? I think Armstrong is not fully disgraced and just needs to lay low for a little and can reemerge in the future. Maybe he can take some personal time and just relax. I am sure that everyone is still pulling for him to make a comeback. America is the place to do it!

,

About Ashleigh Binder

My name is Ashleigh, I am 21 years old. I am currently a senior at Rutgers University studying psychology. I am a huge sports fan and figured why not share my opinion. I am sick of hearing that girls do not know a thing about sports so I want to prove that stereotype wrong. That's basically me... LET'S GO GIANTS, METS, and CELTICS! If you wanna know more... e-mail me- AshBinder06@gmail.com

View all posts by Ashleigh Binder

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Your Thoughts?

