NBA 2K13: A Different Ballgame

September 8, 2012

NBA, User Submissions

With the start of the NBA season right around the corner, I’m hoping you’re gearing up for some great basketball and that includes NBA 2k13.

With my beloved Los Angeles Lakers forming the NBA’s equivalent to The Avengers you can understand my excitement to get my hands on this game. Apart from all the potential new matchups available, it’s the development in gameplay that gets me real excited and this year there’s going to be a lot of changes. From what I’ve heard, the biggest change is that the developers have changed the job of the right stick. What was once the shot stick is now the dribble control stick, something I think fans of the game have been waiting for. This gives us better control of the ball handler and makes breaking ankles that much easier.

Another thing I’ve heard is that the 2K franchise is working on the physics of defense to bring it to a whole new level. Defense, always a big issue with every basketball game since ever, is said to be improved so that the players slides when it has to slide, gets blown by when they get beat, and lock down when they have to lock down. As much as I want to be optimistic about this aspect of the upcoming game but I’ve got to see it to believe it.

As expected with each development of the game, there’s going to be better graphics but the real point of interest is the new animations. I hope that the frustrating animations of last year have been removed and they fix the little glitches we all hate. Apparently the developers are working hard on the ‘in between’ of the game such as something as simple as a players grip on the ball, something we don’t really notice but would just make the game that much more realistic.

Something the franchise has done recently is bring in the legends of the game and this year they may have just topped themselves by including the 1992 Dream Team into it. This allows those interested in the legacy of the USA Olympic teams to settle the debate of who is the best. On top of that, they are bringing back All Star Weekend. The 3-point shooting contest returns while the Slam dunk contest has been revamped, two things NBA 2K diehards have been waiting for and would be gamers to look forward to.

With the game set to drop on October 2, speculation and questions will come to an end and I’m hoping this is the best 2K game yet.

Originally published on: http://litegamer.wordpress.com/
Check this blog out for all your gaming needs!

, , , , , ,

About Steven Nardo

I'm from the Philippines and currently attending a university in Melbourne. I grew up a big basketball fan and have also developed interest in most sports. I've decided to write for the Farm Club as it presented me the opportunity to combine two of my passions; Basketball and Writing.I hope you enjoy my work and your comments are always greatly appreciated!

View all posts by Steven Nardo

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “NBA 2K13: A Different Ballgame”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    i love ball gamez too! every1 play with balls!

    Reply

  2. daschound Says:

    I agree with you. I really seem to like the improvements that I’ve seen from 2k12 to 2k13. They’re bringing back things for online play and My Career (formally My Player) seems to be just as awesome. Definitely looking forward to it.

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. NBA 2K13 Update: Kinect for Xbox 360 | TheFarmClub.net - September 9, 2012

    […] check out my original preview of the game poised to be on the shelves on October 2nd here. Rate this:Share this:TwitterFacebookRedditEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Your Thoughts?

