Madden 2013 Review

August 30, 2012

Features, Football

Well ladies and gentleman, Madden 2013 has officially been released. After two days of near constant gameplay, I am ready to give the world my review.

Commentary – 2.5/5: I am sorry but something is absolutely lacking with Jim Nantz and Phil Simms on the call. That something is Gus Johnson. A majority of the time they do not make any sense and do not even appear to be on the same page. If a guy is stopped for a loss of 4, do not make a call that “he got back to the line maybe 1”.  I cannot count how many times I have heard “the quarterback is looking to be sacked for the X time.” We get it, my offensive line sucks. Learn some new material, major improvements needed. Visual 5/5 – Madden 13 is absolutely gorgeous. The players look insanely realistic and this may be the only part of the game I have no qualms about. Outside of Jim Nantz and Phil Simms being the two scariest broadcasters in the history of Madden, the game looks perfect.

Gameplay – 3/5: Game play improved in some areas and completely downgraded in others. The juke/truck stick lost a certain element of realism. Instead of clean cuts inside and out, the runner seems to jump right and jump left leaving one to realize why that was not left untouched. Tackling feels more realistic in spots, but also has the tendency to look completely unreasonable. Players also fall down in absolute random spots after the play looking almost silly. The main improvement is corners actually intercept the ball instead just bobbling it time after time. The actual play does look smoother as an overall package aside from those minor blemishes.

Innovation – -5/5: I do not understand why they got rid of franchise mode nor your ability to upload players from NCAA. Actually screw it, EA WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU THINKING? I don’t think they just realized how many fans they just lost. Franchise mode is what made Madden great time after time. I am not buying the random crap they are trying to feed about how the new Be A Coach or whatever the hell its called is a better version of franchise. IT IS NOT EVEN CLOSE. I don’t get it, it wasn’t broke so why feel the need to fix it? They added trading for future draft picks last year which was a cool improvement. This year they get rid of all of that. Major mistake by EA that has already lead to outrage.

Re-Play Ability – 2/5: Honestly unless they add a patch for franchise mode, this may become a collectible because Calvin Johnson is on the cover. I will probably go back to playing NCAA before soon. I can only do player careers and regular exhibitions for so long.

Final Rating: Meh. Game plays great but not having franchise mode kills me. If it did not look immaculate, this game would instantly be returned. At least they don’t have replacement officials.

, , , , , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Madden 2013 Review”

  1. Dan Says:

    Coach mode sucks, it isn’t user friendly at all and the game is way too easy. Played one season and already bumped it up to All Madden and still went undefeated with a version of the Jets that is worse than the real Jets roster (and i’m not that good, I haven’t play since 2010).

    They also don’t let you trade for some players, and there is no way to start with any other roster than the default. Wanted to make a move for Mark Barron and no matter what I gave up the Bucs refused to make a trade. I get that the Bucs might not want to give him up in real life, but it’s a game, let the user acquire players that they like.

    I will be selling my game back shortly.

    Reply

  2. Stefan Jagot Says:

    That’s what I heard too Stephen. I had the chance to play it last night, and liked i what I was playing. There are some frame rate issues, but that’s pretty minimal to me. If I had any interest in buying video games any more I would definitely make the purchase.

    Reply

  3. stephenchott Says:

    I don’t really understand the complaint about the franchise mode, to be honest. The Connected Careers mode playing as a coach is pretty much the same thing, only more in depth. It’s actually a lot better than franchise mode, imo.

    Reply

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Is it me or what the fuck happened to intercepting the ball it doesnt allow me to fuckn jump and it only lets u if u jump if u switch in but u cant run and do it this i thee wprst fuckin year for madden

    Reply

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Why did they take away Franchise mode? This is CRAZY!!! Franchise Mode is the entire game. The graphics is awesome. The commentation is about a C- i miss Chris Collinsworth. But come on. I can’t even control the game like I used to. I can’t even create my friends, or cousins like i did on franchise mode along with myself. This is a big turn off! And no NCAA draft upload? I hope they learn a lesson from this! They better make a patch and make it fast or i’m taking this game back and getting my money back. I’m glad i still have my 2012 Madden!

    Reply

    • Eric Ratkowski Says:

      I cannot disagree. The gameplay is improved a bit but it came at the expense of everything else

      Reply

    • Anonymous Says:

      THERE STILL IS FRANCHISE MODE LIKE WE ARE ALL USE TO BUT THEY CALL IT COACH MODE NOW, I THAUGHT THE SAME THING BUT IF YOU GO INTO A FRANCHISE AND SELECT COACH MODE INSTEAD OF PLAYER YOU CAN PLAY JUST LIKE ALL OF THE REST OF THE MADDEN GAMES YOU CAN USE ANYONE ON THE FIELD YOU WANT TO.

      Reply

Your Thoughts?

