That Got Out of Hand Quickly

June 7, 2012

NBA

Okay so a couple days ago (right after the spurs went up 2-0 on the Thunder) I basically said that the Spurs were playing at a super high level, and their bench was unmatched in the league, and they were going to walk into the finals. Boy was I wrong! In the last 4 games we have learned some very important things.

Sweet drawing of me and my magical powers if I was a girl with long blonde hair.

First of all, we learned that I have super crazy magical powers. These powers are not super human strength, or the ability to fly, but the ability to singlehandedly jinx a sporting event. That is the only way I can make sense of what happened to the Spurs these last 4 games.

They were playing at a level so far above what anyone else was at, that I would have bet money on them to win it all, (luckily I am a broke college kid so that wasn’t an option) even after their game three loss.

The fact that the Spurs won 20 games in a row, and beat this Thunder team in the first two games, then managed to lose four in a row to exit the playoffs blows my mind.

I can only contribute it to my magical jinxing powers. (Watch out Miami, I’m pretty sure I picked you guys to beat the C’s…. whoops)

Yeah, you guys are next

One of my other discoveries from the ending of this series is that maybe depth doesn’t matter. I had raved about the Spurs bench, and how that was such a huge advantage in the playoffs for them, but in the end it didn’t matter. The Spurs being able to trot out 11 guys that they felt confident in was perceived by me, and many others to be the difference between them and the rest of the best, but this proved to be untrue. The NBA is becoming every year, a more and more top-heavy league. We have seen it with the consolidation of superstars over the last few years, the team with the best 3 or 4 players is going to get the refs calls, and more importantly the win. It’s a superstar driven league, and they are treated differently. In the last four games of this series Westbrook, Durant, and Harden were greater than Parker, Duncan, and Ginobili, and were treated by the refs accordingly. That is the main reason the Thunder turned it around and were able to beat the mighty Spurs, (if you ignore my magical super powers nonsense). In the future we may see an even more intense ‘arms race’ for teams to load up on superstars, and largely ignore their bench.

, , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Your Thoughts?

